Project for Awesome

A teenagers account of Motor Neurone Disease and how it affected him when his Nana was diagnosed.

Youtube Comments:

  • My Father passed away from that illness 4 years ago. It wasn’t until he was diagnosed with it that I actually heard of it. And your right. It’s a cruel sneaky merciless disease
  • After viewing this video post, I am persuaded of the need to support a charity which offers support to sufferers of this pernicious disease. Thank you for sharing this insight 
  • Very well explained. Heartfelt and honest.
  • my uncle died from thius in 2005 he was like a second dad to me, ill always love him, MND is such a cruel disease and my heart goes out to anyone dealing with it or that has dealt with it ❤
  • I know this illness all to well as my mother died from it when I was 17, me and my father nursed her at home untill 6 week before she passed away, it was the most heartbreaking thing to see the woman who had raised me waste away like this, bloody good on you for making this video
  • I’m 14, and about 12 months ago i found out that my uncle has motor neurone disease, over the past few months i’ve seen his condition deteriorate quite quickly, he’s no longer able to drive, feed himself, write or any other day to day things. He’s 35 and had this condition for about 3 years now. MND is an awful disease to be diagnosed with or to see loved ones suffer with. Thank you for raising awareness and showing people what MND really does and how it affects people.
  • My uncle died from this in 2009 as well. He diagnosed himself long before he told anyone, so from when we all knew until he died took 18 months. It went insanely quickly after the first really serious symptoms set in. Inability to walk, talk and breathe without machines, all within half a year after he got a second crutch for walking. One of the hard things about the disease is that the deterioration is so quick, that every visit shows something new, but it is such a slow and torturous death.
  • My grandad had this & like what you said it was terrible for him not being able to do the things he loved like going to watch the local football team play (he used to manage them) & all that, thank you for raising awareness about this
  • I’m so sorry about your nana, Conor. That’s very sad and you’re right: cruel, too. Awesome/amazing video, though, my friend. Well done! Brilliant! “Liked” and favourited! I started tearing up, though, I admit it. Because of what happened to your nana and because of how awesome/touching this video is. Someone we both sort of know told once told me that they got freaked out when I admitted to crying but I think it’s perfectly normal and healthy, too. I hope you don’t mind.
  • Great video Conor, way to take a stand for something you believe in. Great cause if I don’t say so myself.

There are many many more heartfelt comments these are just a few which enable you to see how people are affected by MND and just how harsh the reality of it is.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

