How Was I to Know?

A poem written by Natalie Fognani, a woman diagnosed with ALS 5 years ago was turned into a song by Lucas Hoge and Corey Barker. Natalie’s last wish was to have her poem put to music and Country Artist Lucas Hoge answered that wish.

Lyrics:

HOW WAS I TO KNOW that snickers bar would be my last
Seems like all of my tomorrows came and went too fast
HOW WAS I TO KNOW there’d be no chance to say goodbye
To loved ones I won’t see until the bye and bye

I’d have savored every hug and every kiss for all it’s worth
And cherished every moment that I had here on earth
I’d have givin of myself – loved with all my heart and all my soul
HOW WAS I TO KNOW

HOW WAS I TO KNOW – that i’d lost the chance to touch loves face
Or the harsh words that I spoke to some can’t be erased
HOW WAS I TO KNOW – the dance would end before the song
or that God missed me so much that he had to call me home

I’d have savored every hug and every kiss for all it’s worth
And cherished every moment that I had here on earth
I’d have givin of myself – loved with all my heart and all my soul
HOW WAS I TO KNOW

I would never question that the master has a plan
(Just) wish I hadn’t took for granted how blessed my life had been

I’d have savored every hug and every kiss for all it’s worth
And cherished every moment that I had here on earth
I’d have givin of myself – loved with all my heart and all my soul
HOW WAS I TO KNOW

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

